Fire The Cannon | Columbus Blue Jackets Blog
Don't Miss

Owners Fantasy Draft

The Players are not going to be the only ones with a lot at stake when Blue Jackets training camp begins September 13, but the owners will as well.

On Tuesday night at a private function in Nationwide Arena, majority owner John P. McConnell and minority owners Ron Pizzuti, Jay Crane, and John F. Wolfe held a fantasy hockey draft in which they each drafted a 16-player team from the Blue Jacket’s training camp roster.

Each team was required to select three centers, seven wingers, and six defensemen. Goaltenders were not drafted but instead will be assigned to a team on a daily basis.

When asked for the motives behind the fantasy draft, Jacket’s head coach and brainchild of the draft Ken Hitchcock cited unequal opportunities in previous year’s camps, and an opportunity for players to meet owners as main reasons.

The rosters for each team were released, but the draft order and order in which players were selected was not. According to the Columbus Dispatch, the teams, broken down by forwards and defensemen, are as follows:


Rick Nash
Derek MacKenzie
Kristian Huselius
Tom Sestito
Michael Blunden
Jared Boll
Daniel Steiner
Andrew Clark
Tim Miller
Jon Mirasty

Kris Russell
Mike Commodore
Grant Clitsome
David Savard
Tim Filangieri
Spencer McAvoy


Derick Brassard
Sammy Pahlsson
Derek Dorsett
Pascal Pelletier
Trevor Frischmon
Matthew Calvert
David Liffiton
Darren Archibald
Brock McBride
Zak Ray

Fedor Tyutin
John Moore
Mathieu Roy
Doug Lynch
Dylan Reese


Antoine Vermette
R.J. Umberger
Raffi Torres
Chris Higgins
Tomas Kubalik
Alexandre Picard
Stefan Legein
Andrew Aggozino
Kevin Harvey
Cass Mappin
Matt Caria

Jan Hejda
Rostislav Klesla
Brent Regner
Steven Delisle
Cam Brodie


Jake Voracek
Nikita Filatov
Jason Chimera
Fredrik Modin
Jared Aulin
Maksim Mayorov
Andrew Murray
Scott Tanski
Ian Duval
Tayler Jordan
Tyler Murovich

Marc Methot
Jonathan Sigalet
Andrei Plekhanov
Kevin Roeder
Paul Bezzo

The teams will play a four-team playoff in which the winners of the first game advance to the championship match while the losers battle it out for third place.

The matchups are as follows:

September 13, 10:30 am

Team McConnell vs. Team Crane

September 13, 2 pm

Team Wolfe vs. Team Pizzuti

September 14, 10:30 am

Third Place Game

September 14, 2 pm

Championship Game

“It’s going to be good,” Hitchcock said. “It’ll be fun, and we’ll get a good evaluation.”

We know that it was a snake style draft in which the order reverses after each round. With that being said, we can only assume that Team Wolfe had the first selection since he has Rick Nash listed on his roster. Other than that though, the rest of it is pretty unclear.

I’ll let you decided who has the best team,

Leave a comment with your pick and reasons why.

-Rob Ogden

Twitter: RobFTC

One Comment

  1. BartFTC

    September 4, 2009 at 11:49 am

    Sexy pick Team Pizzuti but I have to go with Team Mac.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *